MyEpisodes Forum Index
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

AJAX - Update without reload

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MyEpisodes Forum Index -> Requests
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Do you want this request?
Yes - I would find that request useful.
84%
 84%  [ 43 ]
No - I would not find that request useful.
15%
 15%  [ 8 ]
Total Votes : 51

Author Message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 11:08 pm    Post subject: AJAX - Update without reload Reply with quote

[Request Name]
AJAX

[Description]
When I mark an episode as "seen" or "aquired" or when I want to expand a show and see its episodes, instead of reloading the whole page it should load the part with AJAX

[Target URL]
All-In-One!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Renzo


Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2009 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would indeed be quite slick, however abit unneeded because the server is quite fast. And the quick check page allows you to mark multiple episodes at once before reloading the page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tal170


Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i actually logged in to post a request for that exactly, i think ajax would be a great improvement because it's very annoying that every time you click a '+' on the left side of a show the whole page reloads.

Thanks for posting that request,
hope MyEpisodes will get that working soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astv
Moderator

Posts: 135

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ajax would take too long to code, but how about using anchor refs (#name) to autojump the page to the plus/minus, and the seen, and acquired links (all the Operation links actually)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

astv wrote:
Ajax would take too long to code

Not really.

astv wrote:
how about using anchor refs (#name) to autojump the page to the plus/minus, and the seen, and acquired links (all the Operation links actually)?

But we will still have to wait for the page to load...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndraZ


Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also noticed that AJAX would be useful, especially for pluses and a/s on all-in-one. It is not urgent and critical, but when time allows, it would be very nice to have.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astv
Moderator

Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

livin52 wrote:
astv wrote:
how about using anchor refs (#name) to autojump the page to the plus/minus, and the seen, and acquired links (all the Operation links actually)?

But we will still have to wait for the page to load...

And you have to wait for the ajax to load. It's not that different. It's a bit faster, but not that much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

astv wrote:
And you have to wait for the ajax to load. It's not that different. It's a bit faster, but not that much.


My All-In-One page takes 3.78 secs to load.

And a short AJAX request (with DB queries) takes no more than 1 sec.

It is A LOT faster. And I am talking with my own experience.

Even more, if the data returned by the AJAX request is in JSON it will be even faster...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
astv
Moderator

Posts: 135

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did you get the number 3.78?

On the bottom of the page it says:

Page loaded in 0.687895 seconds

For me anyway, and I have lots of things on my all in one.

And what are you talking about with json? Why would that be faster? You would have to run the javascript to turn it into html. Or don't use json and the server could make the html directly.

But why would json be faster? Faster than what?

Have you actually programmed any ajax, or are you going by what you read about it?

Ajax can be faster, but the difference is not dramatic.

Look, ajax would be really cool for the site. I'm not saying it's not. But it does take time to program, and for this site, I don't think it's worth the time.

It's obviously up to the coder, but unless he wants to do ajax for fun, or as a learning experience, I'm not expecting it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

astv wrote:
Where did you get the number 3.78?

On the bottom of the page it says:

Page loaded in 0.687895 seconds

For me anyway, and I have lots of things on my all in one.

I got it from FireBug. The 0.687895 is the time that took to the PHP engine to process it.


astv wrote:
And what are you talking about with json? Why would that be faster? You would have to run the javascript to turn it into html. Or the server could make the html.

But why would json be faster? Faster than what?

JSON is a way to erase structural data so the ajax request takes less time.

astv wrote:
Have you actually programmed any ajax, or are you going by what you read about it?

Yes, I have.

astv wrote:
Ajax can be faster, but the different is not dramatic.

I don't agree with you. It may be not dramatic but it still may be a reason for users to search for another site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump!

I really want this to be made...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TwyLight


Posts: 26
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

instead of eye candy i think real functions are more important
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
livin52


Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is not just "eye candy" it will make things easier for all of us...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IIIIIIIIIIII


Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

+1 for this feature. I might be out of the norm but I only use the All in One Page and rarely ever use quickcheck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gothxx


Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very much wanted, and I do not believe it is that hard to implement
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
edem


Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What makes this tricky is the use of filters. It would be real easy to get the "Save status" functionality work with ajax, but then an ajax script would have to refresh the list as well.

Actually... a JQuery function which refreshes the filters could be useful to reduce page reloads, it also would reduce server load a little bit, and could work with ajax status saves...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Annieroos


Posts: 6
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also really want this! It's really annoying that it goes up when you click, for me it's totally not eye candy. I think the feature all-in-one is great but I would use it so much more and save so much time and anger if it wouldn't jump up every time.
I don't know what ajax is so I don't care how it's done as long as it's done Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kaganus


Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

astv wrote:
livin52 wrote:
astv wrote:
how about using anchor refs (#name) to autojump the page to the plus/minus, and the seen, and acquired links (all the Operation links actually)?

But we will still have to wait for the page to load...

And you have to wait for the ajax to load. It's not that different. It's a bit faster, but not that much.
even if its not that faster, since AJAX requests are asynchronous, you can click on many checkboxes and do all the work in a pseudo-multi-threaded way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phadeb


Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AJAX is complicated, myepsiodes staff is lazy Very Happy Have a better chance trying to convince google into buying myepisodes Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
facedancer
Moderator

Posts: 451

PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phadeb thank you for you input.
_________________
Filter Settings
Code:
Unacquired  Unwatched  Result
off         off        Shows all
off         on         Shows unwatched
on          off        Shows unacquired
on          on         Shows unacquired and unwatched
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulfelf


Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jun 19, 2011 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phadeb wrote:
AJAX is complicated

Have you done much programming?

It's not so complicated, the thing is I'm not into PHP, am an ASP.NET guy, but fixing an jQuery ajax call when clicking in whatched checkbox should take around 2 minutes. or less.

The thing is to get the serverside code to make the save.

The thing is that it should be a huge performance, both for user and server, since you at most need to send back a "1" for success, or "0" for fail, approx 5 bytes with the returning JSON.

The technique now of sending back the whole page will (for True Blood) return 52 652 byte

So not using an jQuery AJAX call will transmit 10.530 times more (already sent) information just to make a single save.

IMHO is that everyone will make a much more and better experience with the page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetz


Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ajax Is the best for improve UI and easiness to use.

But need recode a part of the site in JavaScript and PhP... (even it's can be make in few time with framework (like JQuery))

It will be come in V2 for example Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ulfelf


Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any plans of when v2 will be available?
If you need some assistance I will gladly help to improve the site.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetz


Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I probably misspoke.

I said maybe in a V2, I am not part of the team myepisodes.com so it is only speculation ...

But I am available to assist in programming either in JavaScript or PHP ... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
facedancer
Moderator

Posts: 451

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we are on version 5 or 6.
_________________
Filter Settings
Code:
Unacquired  Unwatched  Result
off         off        Shows all
off         on         Shows unwatched
on          off        Shows unacquired
on          on         Shows unacquired and unwatched
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MyEpisodes Forum Index -> Requests All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

Main design by MW. Refitted to board by Hostile.